Scroll Top

Mackerel & Tuna


The Scombridae are a family of fish that includes tuna, mackerel, and bonito. They are found in temperate and tropical oceans around the world, and many species are important commercially and to recreational fishing. They are generally fast-swimming predators with streamlined bodies and long, forked tails. They have two dorsal fins, large eyes, and sharp, pointed teeth. Most species are blue or silver in color, but some are brightly colored.
Mackerel Graphic
© Richard Carey - Stock.Adobe.Com
Mackerel Clickable
© Richard Carey - Stock.Adobe.Com
Tuna Clickable
Photo by kate on Unsplash
Tuna Graphic
© lunamarina - Stock.Adobe.Com

Mackerel and Tuna vary in size, ranging from the relatively small frigate mackerel at 20 cm in length to the giant bluefin tuna, which can grow up to 4 meters long. They typically have laterally compressed bodies, with a large dorsal fin and two smaller pelvic fins. Their mouths are broad and the teeth sharp, pointed and often reinforced with ridges. They swim using their large pectoral fins and have a powerful tail which helps them to accelerate and maneuver quickly.

These fish are found in temperate and tropical waters around the world, but they are most common in the temperate parts of the Atlantic, Pacific, and Indian oceans. They are generally found in mid-water depths, and some species form large schools in open waters.

They feed mainly on fish, but will also take other prey, such as squid and crustaceans.

Scombridae are generally fast swimmers and spend most of their time in mid-water, swimming in large schools. They can dive to depths of more than 1000 meters and are capable of high-speed bursts of up to 50 km/h. They are highly migratory and can make long journeys in order to feed or spawn.

In some species, schools form when individuals of the same size come together, and in others schools act as protection against predators. They communicate with one another using sound, and some species make loud clicking noises.

The Scombridae family contains over 30 species of fish, including tuna, mackerel, and bonito.
Most species are commercially important for consumption and sport fishing, and several are considered endangered or threatened. They are generally predators, feeding on other fish and crustaceans, and they are found in temperate and tropical oceans around the world.