Scroll Top

Puffers & Triggerfish


Tetraodontiformes is an order of ray-finned fish that includes the triggerfish, pufferfish, filefish, and porcupinefish. These fish are found in tropical and subtropical waters around the world. They have large eyes and small mouths, and many species have distinctive patterns of stripes or spots on their bodies. Many species are highly territorial and aggressive.
By ttrex - Envato Elements
By Mint_Images - Envato Elements
Ocean Sunfish Clickable
© James - Stock.Adobe.Com
Yellow Blackspotted Puffer Clickable
By Grigory_bruev - Envato Elements

Tetraodontiformes vary widely between species. Some, like the triggerfish, can grow up to 3 feet long, while others, like the porcupinefish, can reach up to 16 inches. These fish are typically slow-moving, and they lack the swim bladder found in most other fish, so they need to actively move in order to stay afloat. 

They have well-developed senses of sight and hearing, and many species are able to change color depending on their environment.

This order is found in a variety of habitats, from tropical coral reefs to temperate seas and brackish estuaries. They are found in shallow waters and in depths of up to 600 meters. They inhabit coastal regions, lagoons, and estuaries, but some species are also found in the open ocean. 

They feed on a variety of invertebrates, including mollusks, crustaceans, and other small animals. Some species are also known to feed on algae or seaweed. They use their strong teeth to crush their prey, and they can also inflate their bodies with water or air to deter predators. 

Tetraodontiformes are generally considered to be one of the most intelligent and interactive species of fish. Many species of puffers and triggerfish are known to have individual personalities and are known to recognize and react to their owners. These fish have complex social interactions and will often form social groups with other fish of the same species. 

Some species of puffers and triggerfish have also been noted to display aggression towards other fish. They are also highly territorial and will defend their territory from other fish. When threatened, many species of Tetraodontiformes will swell up with water or air, making them appear much larger and more intimidating.

Tetraodontiformes is comprised of over 300 species of fish and is divided into two suborders, Tetraodontiformes and Diodontiformes. The Tetraodontiformes suborder is further divided into four families, Diodontidae, Tetraodontidae, Triacanthidae, and Molidae. Within the Tetraodontiformes suborder, the most well-known species include the puffers, porcupinefish, ocean sunfish, and triggerfish. 

The Diodontiformes suborder includes the burrfishes and the boxfishes. The Tetraodontidae family includes the puffers, porcupinefish, and ocean sunfish, while the Triacanthidae family includes the triggerfish. The Molidae family includes the burrfishes and the boxfishes.

Tetraodontiformes are important members of many marine ecosystems. They help keep the populations of their prey species in check, and they provide a food source for larger predators. They are also popular in the aquarium trade, and they are known for their striking colors and patterns.